AFFORDABLE HOUSING COMMISSION

The regular meeting of the City of Loveland Affordable Housing Commission was held at the Loveland Municipal Building in the City Managers Conference Room on June 9, 2011

PRESENT AT THE MEETING:

Commissioners: Wayne Thompson, Marija Weeden-Osborn, Chris Jessen, Debbie Doyel,

Vince Ealey, and Connie Ealey

Staff Liaison: Alison Hade

ABSENT FROM THE MEETING:

Commissioners: Renee Salza and Jenny Mishler

Council Liaison: Carol Johnson

These minutes are a general summary of the meeting.

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Thompson called the meeting to order at 5:20 pm.

APPROVAL OF FEBRUARY MEETING MINUTES

Commissioner Doyel made a motion to approve the May 12th meeting minutes. Commissioner V. Ealey seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

No comments.

CITY COUNCIL LIAISON UPDATE

No update.

UPDATE ON CDBG FUNDING FROM HUD

Staff Liaison stated that HUD's amount for CDBG is and additional \$5, making the total amount for bricks and mortar projects \$189,920. The additional money will go to Neighbor to Neighbor's project. Commissioners are encouraged to attend to show support for the AHC allocation decision.

CODE AMENDMENT UPDATE

Staff Liaison Hade and Chair Thompson informed the commission of a meeting that took place between City staff and developers on June 6th regarding the Affordable Housing Code. Overall the developers stated that they liked the code as it was and any changes would make it harder on them to build affordable houses. Ideas for the future of the City's affordable housing program were discussed such as the City land banking, setting up a land trust and being the bank for the buyers of affordable housing units. City staff will meet next week to further discuss the program and the ratio compliance and prepare to take the amendment to City Council at a future date.

OFFICER ELECTIONS

Chair Thompson stated he would like to take time off from chairing the commission. Vice Chair C. Ealey's term on the commission is up and she will not reapply.

Vice Chair C. Ealey made a motion to nominate Commissioner Jessen as Chair. Seconded by Commissioner V. Ealey and passed unanimously.

Vice Chair C. Ealey made a motion to nominate Commissioner Weeden-Osborn as Vice Chair. Seconded by Commissioner Jessen and passed unanimously.

New Business

No new business.

ADJOURNMENT

Newly appointed Chair Jessen adjourned the meeting at 5:55 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Beverly Walker